sign up for our newsletter
Home   Shopping Cart   Contact Details   Sound Details
wholesale login
 On Sale
  contact us
wholesale terms
catalog request
reseller request
how to play music
privacy policy
Join our email list



  buy mp3s

Media Type: CD
gary stroutsos - Oasis
1.) Forgotten Seas -13:35
2.) Empty Sky -2:30
3.) By Moonlight -4:09
4.) Fourth World -3:32
5.) Adobe Walls -3:21
6.) Zuni
7.) Crescent Moon
8.) Kachina Dancer
9.) Dharma

Oasis CD by flautist Gary Stroutsos offers new age music, spa music, relaxation music and instrumental music.

For Oasis, his third recording for White Swan Records, woodwind master Gary Stroutsos draws from and advances the global tradition of flute artistry, breathing a pervading sense of calm into this deep, relaxing suite of meditative flute music.

All the music for Oasis was recorded in one take, “in the moment,” during two late night studio sessions inside the Pacific Northwest. Using only a concert silver bass flute and Southwest desert rim flutes, Stroutsos recorded about a dozen pieces -- over an album’s worth of material. Taken together, the nine tracks selected for Oasis reflect the artist’s many moods.

The challenge of recording solo for Oasis pushed Stroutsos to explore not only his inner landscape, but his surrounding environment as well. In addition to the sea, always a grand source of inspiration for the flautist, he considered the many religious traditions that incorporate the architecture of their houses of worship into their music. He approached the recording studio as a sacred space, treating it as an equal partner and musical collaborator.

Oasis also gave Stroutsos the freedom to further his mastery of his instrument. As he explains, ”I have never recorded a concert bass flute before and the sound has been inside my head for a long time, so I gave it a go. The sound contrasts nicely with the haunting yet plaintive Southwest desert rim flutes. Each instrument reflects a different mood and space, giving the music a nice balance and, I hope, a sense of an oasis (or sanctuary).”

Indeed, this collection of “tone poems” is a true celebration of the natural world, and offers a quiet respite from the cacophony of the present.

Inspired by travel and the friendship of many masters, Gary Stroutsos has fashioned a unique career by combining improvisational flute music and storytelling. From his early journeys through jazz and the Afro Cuban tradition to his explorations of Native American and then East Asian flute customs, it is Stroutsos’ acquired vision that the music and the stories behind it are one and the same, and that only by understanding the context could he truly play the music.

Gary's life’s mission resides in his belief that the playing of flute music and the telling of time honored stories is one of the very best ways to share the universal search for meaning. In addition to over a dozen albums under his own name, he has collaborated with many artists, including David Lanz, John Serrie and Eric Tingstad. His music was showcased in the soundtrack to Ken Burns’ PBS documentary, Lewis and Clark.

1. Forgotten Seas 13:35
2. Empty Sky 2:30
3. By Moonlight 4:09
4. Fourth World 3:32
5. Adobe Walls 3:21
6. Zuni 5:15
7. Crescent Moon 5:26
8. Kachina Dancer 6:13
9. Dharma 13:55

Enjoy Oasis CD by Gary Stroutsos?  See below for more New Age music, spa music, relaxation music and instrumental music.

Other Products by gary stroutsos
Within You Without You

Other Products by gary stroutsos and will clipman and william eaton
Quiet Fire



Home Shopping Cart Search Site Contact Details Sound Details Up

©2020 Whiteswanmusic | Web Application by Airbubble Industries | Web Design by Computer Conscious